Quick Learn

Home Run Derby Participants By Year In MLB Since 2020

By Ayush Khadka / 9 July 2023 03:11 PM

Famous players like Soto, Harper and Alonso have won the Home Run Derby.
Source : twitter

Home Run Derby Participants by year are Vladimir Guerrero, Julio Rodriguez, and Pete Alonso for 2023. They will compete on July 10 at T-Mobile Park.

The MLB top sluggers will be competing for the ultimate Home Run leader at Mariners ballpark in an All-Star weekend.

With the introduction of players like Mookie Betts, Guerrero, Pete Alonso, and Randy Arozarena, fans can expect a huge battle among the top batters.

The participants are further seeded into the respective bracket depending on their number of home runs scored as of July 4.

Here are the first-round match-ups happening on Home Run Derby:

1) Luis Robert Jr. vs. (8) Adley Rutschman
(2) Pete Alonso vs. (7) Julio Rodríguez
(3) Mookie Betts vs. (6) Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 
(4) Adolis García vs. (5) Randy Arozarena

Home Run Derby Participants By Year (2021 to 2023)

Home Run Derby Participants has Pete Alonso competing for the third consecutive year since 2021. 

Ken Griffey Jr holds the record fro most Home Run Derby wins with 3.
Source : twitter

Here is the list of contestants of the Home Run Derby from 2021 to 2023:

1. 2023 

  • Luis Robert Jr
  • Adley Rutschman
  • Pete Alonso
  • Julio Rodriguez
  • Mookie Betts
  • Vladmir Guerrero Jr
  • Adolis Garcia
  • Randy Arozarena

Rodriguez was the 2022 derby's runner up
Source : twitter

2. 2022

  • Pete Alonso
  • Corey Seager
  • Kyle Schwarber
  • Jose Ramirez
  • Julio Rodriguez
  • Ronald Acuna Jr
  • Juan Soto

Mancini is the runner up of the 2021 derby.
Source : twitter

3. 2021

  • Pete Alonso
  • Juan Soto
  • Trey Mancini
  • Shohei Ohtani
  •  Joey Gallo
  • Salvador Perez
  • Matt Olson
  • Trevor Story

Home Run Derby Winners (2013 to 2022)

Home Run Derby winners include players like Juan Soto and Pete Alonso. Juan Soto won the home derby last year in July 2022.

Here is a list of baseballers who won the derby in the past decade with the teams they played during the contest: 

  • Juan Soto (Washington Nationals)- 2022
  • Pete Alonso (New York Mets) - 2021
  • Home Run Derby was Canceled in 2020
  • Pete Alonso (New York Mets) - 2019
  • Bryce Harper (Washington Nationals) - 2018
  • Aaron Judge (New York Yankees) - 2017
  • Giancarlo Stanton (Miami Marlins) - 2016
  • Todd Frazier (Los Angles Dodgers) - 2015
  • Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland Athletics) - 2014
  • Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland Athletics) - 2013

Who Won The 2021 Home Run Derby?

The 2021 Home Run Derby winner is Pete Alonso from New York Mets. 

Alonso is a two-time derby winner in 2021 and 2019.
Source : facebook

The contest was held in the Rockies' stadium, Coors Field. Alonso put up a great 35-homer performance in the first round. His first-round opponent, Salvatore Perez got no chance to compete against Alonso's power-hitting drive. 

Then Pete went on to add 16 more dingers in the second round to reach the finals. The Mets slugger made his longest hit that flew an impressive 498 feet to the left.

Orioles' Mancini fell short of Alonso's record and became the 2021 derby's runner-up. He made 23 dingers in the first round, 13 bombs in the second round, followed by 22 dingers in the final. However, it still came short of catching up with Alonso. 

Soto and Ohtani had a tied game with 22 homers in the first round, and 28 again. Then Soto came on top after defeating Shohei in the sudden death swing-off. 

Who Won The Home Run Derby Last Year In 2022?

The Home Run Derby last year winner in 2022 winner is San Diego Padres outfielder Juan Soto.  

Soto hit 53 dingers in the 2022 derby.
Source : twitter

Juan made 18 homers in the first round and beat Jose Ramirez. His 17th dinger also reached 482 feet, which also became the 2022 contest's longest hit. His second-round game against the future Hall of Famer, Pujols, where he won by 16-15. 

In the finals, he squared up against the Mariners' Julio Rodriguez. Soto won the derby by smashing 19 dingers in the final round, compared to Rodriguez's 18. 

However, Rodriguez had a cumulative greater home run total of 81 compared to his final opponent's 53. Julio had hit an impressive 32 dingers in the first round and 31 in the second round against former champion, Alonso. 

Juan also became the second youngest player to win the derby at 23 years and 264 days, just one day elder than the former 1993 champion, Juan Gonzalez. 

The derby was held in the Dodger Stadium and Soto made his presence as a Nationals player, his former team. A month later, he got traded to the Padres. 

Which Yankee Was The first MLB Rookie To Win The Home Run Derby?

The first MLB rookie to win the Home Run Derby is New York Yankees Aaron Judge in 2017. Judge established a rookie home run record in the 2017 season with 52. 

Judge had a great 2017 season with a Home Run Derby trophy.
Source : facebook

Judge showcased a spectacular performance after beating Justin Bour's 22 home runs in the first round with his 23. In the second round, he created 13 dingers against Cody Bellinger and then on to the finals to play against Miguel Sano. 

The Yankees rookie showered 11 homers in the final and won the tournament with 1:53 still remaining in the clock. In total, Judge had hit 47 dingers, with four of them crossing 500 feet. 

Sano was the Runner-up who opened his drive with 11 home runs against Mike Moustakas, followed by another 11 against Gary Sanchez. 

The 2017 Home Run derby was held in Marlin's Park in Miami with an audience of 37,027 baseball fans. Judge was booed at the start of the game but quickly gained attention after his drives in the first round.

First Rookie To Win Home Run Derby

First Rookie To Win Home Run Derby is Aaron Judge in 2017 with 47 home runs.

Judge hitting the ball for a homer in the 2017 derby.
Source : twitter

Judge, who was 25 years old at that time, overcame Bour's 22 home runs in the first round. Then he went on to beat Bellinger and Sano in the later rounds to clinch the derby title. His highest dinger at the contest reached 513 feet. 

That year, Judge had a great season, with an All-Star appearance in his rookie season and becoming the American League Rookie of the Year. He also won the 2017's Silver Slugger Award and was the American League's home run leader. 

Likewise, another rookie to win the Home Run Derby is the Mets' baseman Pete Alonso in 2019. Pete defeated the Blue Jays' Vladimir Guerrero Jr by a record of 23-22 homers in the finale. 

Pete overcame Acuna Jr in the semi-finals by beating him with 20 dingers. Alonso had begun his victory campaign by initially beating Carlos Santana with 14 home runs. 

Todd Frazier Home Run Derby

Todd Frazier won the 2015 Home Run Derby by making 39 homers in the contest. 

Frazier celebrating his Home Run Derby win in 2015.
Source : facebook

The third baseman played with the Cincinnati Reds that season. With the event taking place in the Reds' Great American Ballpark, it was an electrifying experience for every Reds fan. 

Frazier scored 14 dingers against the Rangers' Prince Fielder in the first round, followed by overcoming Josh Donaldson in the second round by 10 homers. In the finals, Frazier was victorious against Joc Pederson by 15-14. 

Mark Scott Home Run Derby

Mark Scott is a former host of the Home Run Derby TV show in 1960.

Scott was the announcer for the Derby baseballTV show.
Source : facebook

A Chicago native, Mark announced the games and did in-game interviews when the batters would be trying out their skills for making dingers. 

Unfortunately, he suffered from an untimely demise, and the show producers mourned him by canceling the show after airing for just Season 1.

Related post of Quick Learn